Photo

Satellite, freesat and tv help needed (translation please)

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 TinaB

TinaB

green

• green
  • 5 posts

Posted 11 August 2016 - 07:31 PM

OK, so I currently have a Telecable system; I've been complaining about the quality of the reception since 2012, so now enough is enough and I need to get myself a new system.

Have been reading up on my freesat options but to be honest most of it could be written in Japanese as far as I am concerned. I can sort out your official paperwork but this.....?

I think I need a 1.4 dish which I can mount on the side of my house, but which satellite do I choose Prime Focus or Offset Focus? Which is the best box but most importantly who do I use to install it?

There are so many people offering systems and prices vary greatly, I do not want to make a huge mistake and pay out a fortune for a system that's not right for me.

So far I think I know I need:

• 1.4 dish
  • 4 way LNB (I have 4 TV sets)
  • Freesat boxes for each TV, two of which I want to have a hard drive recording facility
  • A ton of caballing

But that's as far as I've got.

Any help, advice and recommendations would be appreciated.

Also, I need a new supplier of phone and internet so recommendations there would also be appreciated.

Tina from La Marina

#2 geoffllo

geoffllo

red

• VIP Member
  • 954 posts

Posted 11 August 2016 - 07:40 PM

You need to have a chat with Graham, who sponsors this forum. He's probably the most knowledgeable guy in this area on the subject of UK TV, and does an excellent job for a fair price..

I'm sure he will see your post, but meanwhile, I'll try to get a message to him to read what you've said.

Geoff.

#3 greytop

greytop

red

• VIP Member
  • 464 posts

Posted 12 August 2016 - 08:56 AM

@TinaB - if you click on the advert for Freesat TV at the top of the page it will take you to a site with loads of info.

Probably a job best left to the experts!

#4 graham1

graham1

redstar