Photo

BBC IPlayer, ITV Player, 4-O-D, etc catch-up sites.

• Please log in to reply
24 replies to this topic

#1 geoffllo

geoffllo

red

• VIP Member
  • 954 posts

Posted 16 August 2012 - 12:57 PM

I have found a way of connecting (free of charge) to all the catch-up channels via the internet, without them knowing that you are in Spain. I was worried at first that I might get some nasties along with it, but I've been using it for a year now, with no problems.

If any members are interested in trying it, I am willing to post details of how to set it up. It only takes about five minutes.

Geoff

#2 rhodes169

rhodes169

red

• VIP Member
  • 181 posts

Posted 16 August 2012 - 05:13 PM

Yes please Geoff.

#3 geoffllo

geoffllo

red

• VIP Member
  • 954 posts

Posted 16 August 2012 - 05:25 PM

Here goes then:-

Instructions for setting up a proxy server.

I have set out below the instructions I give to folks in Spain who want BBC IPlayer etc. I have been using this VPN for a few months now, without any nasties creeping in!

In your browser address bar, type: uk.hotfreevpn.com (don’t put www. or anything else)

On the page that loads up, on the blue bit, click on “Win7 VPN”, or “WinXP VPN” according to what you're running.

Scroll down the page and set up the connection as per instructions.

User name is “free”

Password is “1234”

Name of connection is “UK VPN”

From then on, when your normal ISP is connected, you can open the UK VPN alongside it. When you open the UK VPN connection, you may have to wait a few seconds, then you will get a message “Additional log-on information may be required”. Click on this, then click on the mauve coloured “I Agree”.

You are then connected to the UK VPN. In the address bar, type “www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer” or “www.itv.com/player” etc etc.
I use cables from my laptop to the big tv, and we watch it like normal.