Jump to content


Photo

Freesat


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 happyjackseven

happyjackseven

    red

  • VIP Member
  • 784 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Birmingham / La Marina

Posted 06 February 2008 - 08:01 PM

HI,

Just thought I would mention that in the spring FREESAT will launch.This may be of interest as it will use Eurobird 1 which has a very broad "footprint" and should be accessable in Spain with a one metre dish.

I mention this as I understand reception with telemicro can sometimes be a little "iffey".Also freesat will be broadcasting in HD (high definition) which for those with a hd ready tv means that the picture will be MUCH better .And it will be broadcasting in dolby 5.1. stereo

Might be an alternative if telemicro ever stop broadcasting as I understand It is illegal to rebroadcast these signals in Spain.


Jack
Happyjackseven

#2 johnsweb

johnsweb

    red

  • VIP Member
  • 299 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:North Wales / La Marina

Posted 06 February 2008 - 09:29 PM

Jack

I had not heard about the freesat launch but having just trawled several anorack sites it does appear that reception for BBC and ITV will not be any better than at present because of broadcasting copyrite issues although most say you can get Sky news with a used WOK as your dish

it would be nice not to have to rely on Telemicro without having to fit a 2.4mtr dish

JohnC
Hard work never killed anyone
But I'm taking no chances

#3 seanmc7

seanmc7

    red

  • VIP Member
  • 133 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Weymouth Dorset

Posted 07 February 2008 - 08:34 AM

Jack.

Although they will be transmitting in HD it will only be a limited number of channels and you will need a HD decoder as well.
Better a bad day fishing, than a good day in the office

#4 happyjackseven

happyjackseven

    red

  • VIP Member
  • 784 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Birmingham / La Marina

Posted 07 February 2008 - 11:28 AM

Hi
More information here.

Jack

http://www.freesat.co.uk/home.php
Happyjackseven

#5 happyjackseven

happyjackseven

    red

  • VIP Member
  • 784 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Birmingham / La Marina

Posted 07 February 2008 - 11:42 AM

Hi,

If they also use eurobird 1 and I am told they will, the footprint easily covers Spain.and a 90cm would be large enough.you will ned a receiver of course and you would only have bbc 1/2/3/4
Itv1/2/3/4 with channel 4 and 5 likley to follow later .There would be a variety of receivers including hard disc recorders.

I personally have very little problems with telemicro and for what we get sky sports and so on I think its brilliant.....

But it may be an alternative if it all goes tits up!


Jack
Happyjackseven

#6 Paul Garner

Paul Garner

    red

  • VIP Member
  • 128 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 07 February 2008 - 12:48 PM

Its an interesting development. We currently run two Telemicro Boxes, wifes not a sports fan. Waiting to see the line up of channels and will probably be able to ditch one of the boxes.

Ok to go up the ladder and fix the dish up but need the tech wiz kids out there to come up with the installation and turning instructions

#7 happyjackseven

happyjackseven

    red

  • VIP Member
  • 784 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Birmingham / La Marina

Posted 07 February 2008 - 03:54 PM

Hi Paul ,

As you say it could be interesting,we will have to wait and see.
I would not bother fitting a dish your self I know a company in Guardamar(Spanish) who fitted my dish they were reasonable.

As we know telemicro have removed from their line up sky movies and replaced it with MGM and another showing old movies.If they were to remove sky sports then their package :medium-smiley-047: would not be so attractive would it girls :medium-smiley-047: .

Will wait and see

Jack
Happyjackseven

#8 sydeccles

sydeccles

    red

  • VIP Member
  • 662 posts
  • Location:Hampshire UK

Posted 07 February 2008 - 08:20 PM

" The Freesat platform is to use the Eurobird 1 satellite situated at 28.5° east, this has a far wider footprint than the Astra 2D satellite currently used by both the BBC and ITV. Arqiva have confirmed to the Astra 2D Website, that tests are being carried out on transponder C5, 11.385 horizontal polarization"

This has caused many people to think that Freesat is going to be transmitted from Eurobird.
It isn't, the channels are going to stay on the same transponders, and the BBC and ITV will remain on Astra 2D.
The only thing that will change when Freesat launches is that the new electronic programme guide will be on a Eurobird frequency.
The new receivers will receive the same channels on the same frequencies, but the guide will be new, and most importantly, not controlled by Sky.

The Astra 2D Forum
www.astra2d.com


#9 Paul Garner

Paul Garner

    red

  • VIP Member
  • 128 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 08 February 2008 - 04:32 PM

Sydeccles,

Do I take it that then that this system will be of no use to us and we are back to square one. To get anything other than the telemicra systems 2.4 meter dish ?

:3_8_14:

#10 sydeccles

sydeccles

    red

  • VIP Member
  • 662 posts
  • Location:Hampshire UK

Posted 08 February 2008 - 05:23 PM

First of all, I am NOT an expert, however like many people I have been looking into the Freesat options, and have a 2.4 dish etc.

I have been told, that its not only a large Dish that you need, you also need the Correct LNB, Currently the Invacom Quad with a C120 Feed Horn seems to be the prefered option. Also the Digi Boxes vary, apparantly the PACE 2600C1 is the best. Even the cable you use has a effect on the signal quality, Tecatel Titainium being highly recomended, Referencia: 151007 at Demon multimedia.


I have listed a couple of links that should be of help.

http://www.digitalspy.co.uk/forums/
http://www.satellites.co.uk/
http://www.satelliteforcaravans.co.uk/
http://www.freesatfromsky.co.uk/

And for components, cable etc
http://www.demon-multimedia.com/

Digi Boxes
http://www.digiboxes.org



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users